Click here to edit subtitle

Current Board of Directors

President: Kari Sebern, P.E.

Kari obtained a BS in Civil and Environmental Engineering from South Dakota State University in Brookings, SD in 2002 and then gained structural design experience working for private industry in Denver, CO.  Kari relocated to Panora, Iowa in 2009 and formed Sebern Structural Services shortly thereafter.  Sebern Structural focuses on providing structural design for small to medium scale building structures and forensic engineering for residential structures.

Contact Kari

Vice President: Mike Barkalow, P.E. & L.S.I.

Mike is the City Engineer for the City of Marion.  He is responsible for the administration, supervision, coordination, and control of the Engineering Department. His Engineering career started back in the private sector in High School and several summer internships. He has a Bachelor of Science degree in Civil Engineering from Iowa State University (‘05), Master of Engineering in Engineering Management  from Iowa State University (‘14) and a Master of Business Administration from the University of Iowa (’14). He recently held several positions at the ASCE EI YMG Board as well as other boards and committees.

Contact Mike

Membership Director (1st year): Ed Sowder, P.E.

Edward is a Project Engineer for Calhoun-Burns & Associates in West Des Moines, Iowa. He graduated from Iowa State University with a Bachelor of Science degree in Construction Engineering and a Master of Business degree in Business Administration. Edward is a licensed professional engineer in Iowa. Edward’s experience is in bridge design and inspection throughout Iowa. In his free time, Edward enjoys fantasy football, swimming with his wife and two sons, and going to Iowa State wrestling meets.

Contact Ed

Coordinating Director (2nd year): William Mabuce, P.E., PO, ENV SP

Bill is the Engineering Project Manager for West Des Moines Water Works. His duties at the Water Works include engineering design and construction oversight of water infrastructure within the City of West Des Moines, utility locating, loss prevention, and supervision of engineering technicians. Prior to joining the Water Works in 2013, he worked for ten years at private consulting firms. He earned a bachelor's degree in civil engineering from the University of Minnesota, a bachelor of arts degree from Luther College, and a Master's degree in Business Administration from the University of Iowa. In addition to his engineering license, Bill holds a Grade 4 Professional Operator certificate, and both Grade 4 Water Distribution and Grade 2 Water Treatment licenses from the State of Iowa. Bill is also a former treasurer and past president of the CIYMG.


                                                                     Contact Bill

Associate Director: Dave Mulholland, P.E.

Secretary: Della Caldwell, E.I.  

Financial Officer: Justin Widdel, P.E.
Justin earned his BS in Civil Engineering from Iowa State University in 2005. Since graduating, he has worked as a Project Engineer for Terracon Consultants, Inc. in Cedar Rapids focusing on geotechnical and construction materials testing services on projects throughout eastern Iowa. Justin is a past president of the Eastern Iowa Younger Member group and has been an active member of ASCE since 2008.

Contact Justin

Communications Officer: Stephanie Then Hooge, E.I.
Steph is a Water Resources Engineer with HDR, Inc. She graduated from the University of Iowa with a BSE in Civil Engineering in 2015 and a MS in Civil and Environmental Engineering in 2016. Her project experience at HDR includes hydrologic and hydraulic analysis in support of floodplain analysis, flood mitigation, bridge design, and stormwater conveyance. Steph will sit for her P.E. exam in 2020. 

Past President: Joshua Trygstad, P.E.

Josh is a Civil Engineer and Project Manager with Civil Design Advantage in Grimes. Josh joined CDA in January 2005.  He completed his Bachelor of Science degree from Iowa State University in 2003.  Previous to CDA, Josh was with three other consultants, two of them consisting of summer positions in the surveying department and in materials testing.

Contact Joshua

Region VII Assembly Delegate: Jenifer Bates, P.E.

Jenifer has been an active member of ASCE dating back to her student chapter days at Iowa State University. Through her tenure on the board, she has held every position available except newsletter/website director.


Jenifer attended the Legislative Fly-In in Washington D.C. in 2009 and 2010 where she lobbied on Capitol Hill with ASCE colleagues from all over the United States to bring attention to ASCE issues. She represented the Iowa Section as the Region 7 Assembly Delegate for the first two years of the new ASCE governing structure, helping to take local issues to the newly formed Board of Governors. She was responsible for coordinating the Iowa Section Strategic Plan in 2009 and was instrumental in getting the new constitution and bylaws approved by the Section and the Society in the years following. She has represented the Iowa Section at national conferences and on a special task force for the State Licensing Board. She’s been on the ASCE Transportation Committee since the early 2000’s and she has volunteered at various community and school outreach events over the years. As of October 2013, she is again fulfilling the role of Iowa Section Region 7 Assembly Delegate.


From 2011-2012, she was on the National ASCE Committee on Career Development. That committee was responsible for developing the career development brochure for the Society, developing the Society’s online mentoring program, developing kits/materials to aid Sections in holding mentoring events/programs in their individual regions, and promoting grants available to help mentoring endeavors.

Contact Jenifer